Skip to content ↓
The Unicorn School

The Unicorn School

A Specialist School supporting pupils with dyslexia and related learning difficulties

School Staff




Senior Management Team  
Head Teacher Andrew Day
Deputy Head Teacher Vita Parvin
Bursar Katy Johnson
Director of Teaching & Learning Sallie Greenhalgh
Head Of Prep Alex Gardner
Office Manager / Clerk to the Governors Diane Kenyon
OUTREACH Co-ordinator, 1:1 Co-ordinator & Specialist Assessor Clare Roberts
Pastoral & Safeguarding Lead Ann-Marie Martin
Registrar & Head of Marketing Elizabeth Carter Shaw
SENCo Fiona Campbell


To find out more about our Senior Management Team, follow this link



School Office  
Office Manager & Clerk to the Governors Diane Kenyon
Registrar & Head of Marketing Elizabeth Carter Shaw
Office Assistant Louisa Haynes


Class Teachers  

Years 2/3

Elm Lucinda Bettridge
Year 4/5 Ash Caroline Wilson 
Year 5/6 Cedar Lucinda Allison
Year 6 Willow Alex de Jong
Year 7 Beech Sarah Hunt
Year 8 Redwood Alex Gardner
Year 9 Maple Claire Woodcock
Year 10 Sycamore Harriett Graham
Year 11 Aspen Ann-Marie Martin
Subject Teachers  



Sallie Sayers

Melanie John


Harriett Graham (Head of English)

Sally Carter Tabasso

Food & Nutrition

Vita Parvin

Helen Day

French Cat Turlier

Claire Woodcock (Head of Mathematics)

Sallie Greenhalgh

Media/Film Studies

Harriet Graham

Sally Carter Tabasso


Sallie Greenhalgh

PSHE, Citizenship & RSE

KS3: Alexandra Gardner & Sarah Hunt

KS4: Vita Parvin


Susan Cripps (Head of Science)

Ann-Marie Martin


One to One Teachers  
Fiona Campbell SENCo
Clare Roberts 1:1 Co-ordinator, OUTREACH Co-ordinator, Specialist Assessor
Clare Bedford
Clare Carlini
Dee Chappelle
Rachel Davies
Helen Day
Ruth Johnson
Sara Jones
Szilvia Logan
Caroline McIntyre
Katherine Parry
Alex Trevelyan
Emily Whalley
Janine Wooldridge


Specific  Learning Difficulties Study Skills Teachers  
Kathryn Pearson SpLD Study Skills Co-ordinator
Natasha Fuller  
Joanna Woodbury  




Edwina Vernon Mst Oxon (Psychodynamic Practice)

UKCP (Accred.)   MBACP (Reg.)  MSt Oxon


Emotional Literacy Support Assistant Melanie John
Occupational Therapist Maren Heuffmann
Speech and Language Therapist Georgina Wilmott
Trainee Play Practioner Gayle Thomas

Mental Health Leads

Mel John
Teaching Assistants
Megan Bird  
Johanna Castella  
Jacqueline Cherry  
Kate Hanke  
Melanie John  
Kate Lowe  
Sally McEwan  
Isobel Peacock  
Louise Yardley  



Designated Officers  
Child Protection Andrew Day
Annie McNeile
First Aiders

Lucinda Allison

Dee Chappelle

Louisa Haynes

Julian Puffitt

Louise Yardley

Health & Safety Andrew Day
Pastoral & Safeguarding Ann-Marie Martin


Ancillary Staff  
Minibus Driver and Lunchtime Helper Tracey Lee
Site Manager  Julian Puffitt


Board of Governors  
Mark Chambers Chair of Governors
David Anderson  
Robin Askew  
Marion Frostik  
Sophie Langdale  
Natalie-Jane MacDonald  
Annie McNeile  
Andrew Strivens


David Ward  


To find out more about our School Governors, follow this link


To find out more about our teaching qualifications, follow this link